Bathroom Renovation Part 3: The Finale!

This is the Finale of my 3 part bathroom renovation! Please feel free to check out  Bathroom Renovation Prt 1 and Bathroom Renovation Part 2.  We would love to hear your feedback! 🙂

In this Final bathroom post we will be reveling:

How to create a Shiplap accent wall on a budget

I was set on having a shiplap accent wall in our bathroom thanks to Joanna Gaines 😉  Once I looked into buying some I was devastated to find its rather expensive. Thankfully Codys a pretty handy guy and figured out how to turn a normal 1×6 into a piece of shiplap.

Here is our wall ↓

IMG_1255

First, cut your board to the length of the wall. Using (carefully) a table saw, set fence to 1/4 inch. Our blade we are using is also a 1/8 inch wide which makes the cut 3/8 inch. Run your cut on the edge of the board and the length of the board. Then flip it over and do a mirror cut on the other side.

Making Shiplap

Next, Carefully use a nail gun to place your boards on the wall. We started from the bottom and worked our way up using a few pennies as width spacers.

Shiplap

Yes, that is my pink hammer ↓ … I bought my own toolset in Pink so Cody wouldn’t use it but unfortunately that hasn’t stopped him 😦

shiplapwall

Above you can see how we stuck a penny in-between the boards. Its centered right under the top board. See it???

After All the boards were up he surprised me with these cute corner shelves! ♥

Bathroomshelves

I used bathroom paint that is mildew resistant in light grey on the walls and shelves. (I wasn’t very good at documenting progress during this reno so I don’t have a picture of the wall painted pre decorating 😦  )

After a very long couple months our bathroom is complete!

after

hellodarling-2

img_4116IMG_4864

I’m beyond excited our bathroom is complete. Let us know what you think and If there are any questions about how anything was done!

1c0nvu70hcjapq31egg0

 

Leave a Reply

